Questions and answers, but mainly questions.

AIR MAX ONE

nikes.jpg

Nike has recently re-released the Air Max family. I've been shopping for a new pair of running shoes for a while. I was ready to settle for a cheap pair of sneakers when these caught my eye. My dad wore these same shoes when I was a kid. Always a sucker for sentiment, I had to try them on.

airmax_fam.jpg

I was sharing a bit of my nostalgia with the saleswoman, so she asked a co-worker which year these were originally released. He said, "Eighty-three. Wait – no, ninety-one. They're ninety-ones." I won't get into the details, but I couldn't have been older than eight when I my dad purchased these. Which means they had to have come out before 1988. I wasn't going to contest until I noticed the in-soul of the shoe lists the airmax family and each shoe's respective release year. Mine are from 1987. That's right – I bought'em and I'm lovin'em.

I still didn't contest the year because they defintiely didn't care. However, if you dig this kind of stuff like I do, you can read all about it at nikeid.nike.com. The website lists them at $90, but I got them for $80 at Champs. Don't bother with the Nike outlet stores – I went to two and they didn't have them. Oh yeah – I guess I didn't mention I saw them at Champs about a month ago, decided $90 was too expensive, dreamed about them for a few weeks, looked for a pair of comparable (albeit less expensive) shoes and finally caved when they didn't have the cheapies in my size.  My wife also let me get them as long as I understood I was borrowing against Father's Day.  Thanks Baby!

7 responses

  1. niiiiiiiiiiice….I used to covet the air max myself. those and the Andre Agassiz Nike’s, first the orange ones, then the yellow! Flouresant of course! How’s the ride?

    June 12, 2006 at 2:52 pm

  2. They feel real nice. Very light on my feet. I’m kinda looking forward to them getting that slightly worn-in look. I’m not going to force it though. No – that would be lame.

    June 12, 2006 at 3:37 pm

  3. danielle

    ahhhh….this reminds me of just for feet…and you selling me a pair of sneakers.

    lol

    June 13, 2006 at 7:30 am

  4. Wow. I hated selling shoes.

    June 13, 2006 at 8:35 am

  5. Remember the Reebok Pump?! I bet you owned a pair of those bad boys!

    June 14, 2006 at 7:43 pm

  6. JD

    sweet kicks…you must be a pretty good father

    June 14, 2006 at 7:58 pm

  7. sneakers are weird. i just bought some too and they are finally getting broken in and better. they aren’t as cool as these though.

    June 19, 2006 at 1:30 pm

Leave a Reply

