Questions and answers, but mainly questions.

Screen Shots

I have been working on donovanworks.com for months. I think I've finally settled on a design I like. The thing is – I don't have the patience to wait until it launches for feedback. Truthfully, I'd also like to milk all usability and design advice i can get before I start chopping this thing up. My biggest trouble area right now is the blog (or "journal") section – the comments and links in particular. I'm just not sure how to organize everything. Any insight would be greatly appreciated. On an aesthetic note – I got a lot of my inspiration from artofmission. Ryan, is this too close for comfort? Let me know.

*Edit*

I should mention that the design will be expandable (does "liquid" work here?). The drop shadows are just for display purposes in this article. It's going to be more "web 2.0-ish."

mdphoto.jpg

journal.jpg

10 responses

  1. danielle

    you know what? i really like it.

    you know what else? i think i would like to work out a wedding photography deal (read: we’ll get you here and you stay with derek and we’ll pay you some money) with you…feel like coming to erie sometime within the next year?

    no, i am not engaged.
    but we are planning things.

    May 9, 2006 at 10:19 am

  2. Deal. If for no other reason than experiencing the thrill of nonrev travel once again – deal 😀 Let’s work out the details elsewhere.

    May 9, 2006 at 12:09 pm

  3. I am interested in how your blo-journal turns out. I like the look so far… look at it this way, get your journal up and I will pay you to make a copy for me…!!

    May 9, 2006 at 12:35 pm

  4. that should read blog-journal…

    May 10, 2006 at 3:23 pm

  5. Hey, good work Matt – it looks awesome! I’m actually very flattered, and no, it’s not too close for comfort. I really like the way you’ve utilized the bottom half of the page. For a photography site, it’s perfect – put the most important stuff up top: your photographs, and then keep the tertiary information accessible on every page. Great layout.

    Bethany says that when we have a baby you have to come and do our baby portraits!

    May 18, 2006 at 11:58 am

  6. i would just like to apologize for my serious lack of looking at your site. i always forget about it because it’s in my xanga list but in a separate category called “other blogs.”

    so comments on everything.

    the cherry tree pic was great and now all i can think of is the song “black horse in a cherry tree” whenever i hear the words cherry tree
    don’t get that scooter thing if kristin is uncomfortable with it
    i really like the site design. it does look a bit similar to the one that you took inspiration from though. maybe a color chang is in order to keep it farther away.

    sorry so delayed!! course, i don’t hear you responding to my posts anymore so i dont feel too bad.

    p.s. you’re never online anymore.

    May 18, 2006 at 12:30 pm

  7. Ryan: Thanks for the encouragement. The color scheme has actually change considerably since I posted this, but the layout is still pretty much the same. I will TOTALLY come to Austin when you have a baby. More so to meet him/her – but I’d snap some shots too 🙂

    Rachel No apologies necessary. I’m a butt hole for never commenting on your xanga. I haven’t read in a while because (one) I used to get the rminders via email, but that email address expired with my mdphoto.info hosting. And (two) you went on an American Idol rampage a while ago and I lost some interest because I don’t even have a TV. Watch out in the coming week or so. I’ll comment on your blog like a maniac to make up fer it.

    May 18, 2006 at 2:05 pm

  8. derek

    Did my house just get offered as a safehaven for some traveling photo man? I’m down. Hope you can make that work…

    May 23, 2006 at 9:52 pm

  9. derek

    PS – love the new design for your site – don’t listen to Rachel – the colors are cool as is.

    May 23, 2006 at 9:52 pm

  10. Thanks for the compliments, Derek. Truth be told, I got a little tired of this design not too far into development. I ended up changing it up a bit. Hopefully it will be (mostly) done this week.

    And I do plan on shooting Danielle’s wedding.

    May 24, 2006 at 7:20 am

Leave a Reply

