Questions and answers, but mainly questions.

Would you love Jesus if …

no_cross.gifWalking home from work this evening, I was feeling affectionate toward Jesus. Not overwhelmed by a downpour of emotion, there was drizzling sweetness that accompanied my contemplation on His humanity. Being more aware of my affection than wrapped up in it, I was struck by how little love I felt for my Savior in years past. “If someone had asked me six or seven years ago,” I pondered, “why it is that I love Jesus, what would my response have been?” I answered to myself, “I would have talked about how much I loved Him because of what He did for me on the cross.” This propelled me to think about all of the other reasons (inlcuding the cross) that I love Jesus Christ. In the Bible I get to read about his intimacy with really rough people. I love his patience with people and his enthusiasm over both large gatherings and solitude. Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about his sexual purity and how much he loved, honored and respected women.

“What would I have said,” I mused, “if – six or seven years ago – someone asked me, ‘Would you love Jesus even if He never died on the cross?'” Upon that notion I thought, “Nevermind ‘six or seven years ago!’ What would I say this minute?!” Maybe the first questions is – could I love Jesus if He hadn’t been made a sacrifice for my sins? Would he be any less worthy of my love and affection? Thankfully, this is a hypothetical situation, but would you love Him if this were the case? Could you love Him? Why or why not?

7 responses

  1. danielle

    “Greater love has no one than this, that someone lays down his life for his friends.” Jn 15:13 (esv)

    it would be a completely different kind of love, wouldn’t it? i suppose jesus would be lumped in with buddah and mohammed…awesome prophets. it would turn into more of an admiration, i think. i’m not sure we could or should love him without that sacrifice…without the sacrifice…well, he would have just been a realy cool guy.

    March 21, 2006 at 7:46 am

  2. without the cross – there would be no redemption. i would still love Him – but the whole of history would be changed and our need for “salvation” would be completely idfferent… I dont know, i can’t even THINK that way!!

    the way this post is written and the t opics remind me of Donald Miller http://www.donaldmillerwords.com/index.php (see in link above)

    March 21, 2006 at 11:02 am

  3. It’s kind of a screwy hypothetical – I know. I’m asking – if everything about God was still true – but Jesus was never crucified. Mohamed and budha wouldn’t be awsome prophets – they’d be wrong about God.

    Jesus would still be God. He would still be beautiful and the only one worthy of our love. While I do believe that the cross alone enables us to love Him, I’m asking if it is the cross alone that makes Him worthy of being loved. I have some thoughts, but I’m interested in what others think.

    March 21, 2006 at 2:24 pm

  4. You got me thinking man.

    Hop on over to my xanga… you once told me (a long time ago) you like hip hop and there is an open question about hip hop on my xanga… please comment if you have anything you would like to add.

    Late dude…

    Ps…i had lunch with your rents in chicago a few weeks ago…it was nice to see them again. One of these days im going cross country again and will stop by texas…i was in amarillo a while ago but didnt go any deeper into texas so yeah…true story.

    March 22, 2006 at 11:02 pm

  5. Daniel

    Would I still love Christ if He hadn’t died? Honestly, I’m not sure. I suppose that the only reason we love Christ is b/c of the Holy Spirit enabling our sin sick hearts to see Him, and without the cross opening the way of the Holy Spirit to come into our lives loving Christ would be impossible (must think on that more…). Aside from this, we know Christ’s love through his death, just like we know the love of our spouses and parents and friends through their actions. Without the cross, at best our love (if any) would be short sighted. Even still, Christ HAS died and there are plenty of people that don’t have any affection for Him, inside and outside the church. To be honest, my own affection fluctuates in any given day.

    Would Christ still be worthy of our love if he hadn’t died? Absolutely. I think it would be like someone in Moses’ day asking, “Is God worthy to love?” God’s act of creation was an act of love. God’s act of allowing Adam and Eve to live after the fall was an act of love. While it is easy to see the wrath of God in the Old Testament, the love of God is at work just as often, like the other side of a coin is always present. Christ is part of the Godhead. He is the ‘stuff’ of God Himself. His death (and life) simply revealed what was in Him to our eyes, but didn’t in any way change who he was or what he was worthy of.

    March 23, 2006 at 9:32 am

  6. good post. i loved reading it.

    March 23, 2006 at 5:37 pm

  7. Would we know christ if he hadn’t died…would there be such a thing as Christianity? A lot of what ifs…Rob brll talks about this in his book “velvet Elvis” a great read…good fodder for thought though…

    March 30, 2006 at 12:35 pm

Leave a Reply

