Questions and answers, but mainly questions.

A List to Leave You Wanting

Dang – I’ve been working like nuts on my new site. Kristin gave me some great ideas last night concerning the main navigation bar. Hopefully it will be all good to go in about a week or two. The possiblity of doing the redesign on Ransom’s site is giving me a lot of motivation to finish donovanworks.com ASAP. At any rate, I apologize for the hiatus over here.

Per Jason’s request, here’s my most recent top five movie must-rent list. Renting has been infrequent at best these days, so this list is a little weak … but whatever:

1. Capote – I don’t know if this is out on video yet, but Kristin and I saw it in the theater (before Hoffman won the Oscar for best actor). It’s really dark and you may want to kill yourself upon finishing the film. If, however, you do survive the experience – wow – what fertile material for discussion. This is just great cinema.

2. Chicken Little – That’s right, I cover all the bases. Another movie I’m not entirely sure is out on video yet – this list may not be helpful for another month! Disney’s first computer animated motion picture, Chicken Little didn’t receive very good reviews. We took Jaimes to the dollar theater to see it – it was her first theater experience and she LOVED it. I also thought it was pretty funny. Beware – it’s rated G, but should probably be PG. Some parts were a little too scary for munchkins under 3.

3. First Descent – I haven’t seen it yet, but I hear it’s AWESOME. Next up in my Netflix queue, I simply can’t wait to see this.

4. The Office (BBC series) – We recently finished the second season. Maybe the most uncomfortable comedy I’ve ever watched. Shot as a mockumentary, each episode masterfully exploits the many absurdities of middle-management Amer … er … I mean Britain. If you don’t like crude humor, but can stomach it in order to laugh at the inappropriateness of it in the work place, this show’s for you. By the way, if you’re familliar with the American version featuring Steve Carell, the BBC series is it’s predecessor and (in my opinon) far superior.

5. Last but not Least is House of D, directed by Agent Mulder himself.  This supposed semi-autobiography written by, directed by and starring David Duchovny was surprisingly delightful.  Why Robin Williams’ character required dentures is still a mystery to me, but his performance was pretty good.  Anton Yelchin, a talented young actor from one of my favorite films, also stars as Duchovny’s childhood persona.
We’ve got a couple films (Motorcycle Diaries & Walmart: The high Cost of Low Price) in the queue that I’ll likely be reviewing in the coming weeks. If I don’t, just get on my case again and I’ll get back to it.

GEEKY QUESTION: Anyone know of a plugin to export a Netflix Queue into a blog?

6 responses

  1. Matt-
    Did you see Walk the Line?

    If so, what did you think?

    March 16, 2006 at 9:23 am

  2. I saw it and I loved it. My favorite line is when Johnny Cash wakes up in his bed after several days of detoxing. It’s morning and June Carter sits down beside him. He calls her an angel and she denies the label. She insists she’s just a friend helping another friend. She tells him he’s a good man and that God has given him a second chance – that this is his chance.
    What a picture of God’s persistent, sovreign grace.

    March 19, 2006 at 1:14 pm

  3. Kristin

    Another MUST SEE is “Nobody knows”. It’s a Japanese film about 4 brothers and sisters, their childhood and life. Seriously, I haven’t stopped thinking about this movie! Thank you Donaldson’s for telling us about it!! Kovacs’ – you MUST see this movie! Shawnda will love it! Warning: be sure to have a box of tissues.

    March 20, 2006 at 9:07 pm

  4. Kristin

    Ok, I really think everyone should watch this movie…here’s what Netflix has to say about it….

    Japanese director Hirokazu Koreeda’s touching film follows the empty lives of 12-year-old Akira (Yûya Yagira) and his three younger siblings (Ayu Kitaura, Hiei Kimura and Momoko Shimizu) after their mother abandons them in a tiny Tokyo apartment. Pragmatic, determined and wise beyond his years, Akira manages the household as best he can — but eventually the money runs out, and the children must find new ways to survive. Based on a true story.

    March 20, 2006 at 9:10 pm

  5. Rachel

    sorry about not commenting recently – i forget to check t his. i loved chicken little. it was so good!

    March 21, 2006 at 10:59 am

  6. Thanks for the suggestions!

    March 30, 2006 at 12:41 pm

Leave a Reply

