Questions and answers, but mainly questions.

Turn Back for Bread

I was telling a friend this morning that, for whatever reason, my grief over our recent miscarriage has illuminated the splendor of Christ in more areas of my life than ever. I have been experiencing what I usually describe as a “brief period of spiritual dryness” for the past 4 years. Lately, my sorrow over my sin has been increasing together with my hunger for more intimacy with Jesus. This word form Spurgeon was like music to me this morning:

“Tell me where you lost the company of Christ, and I will tell you the most likely place to find him. Have you lost Christ in the closet by restraining prayer? Then it is there you must seek and find him. Did you lose Christ by sin? You will find Christ in no other way but by the giving up of the sin, and seeking by the Holy Spirit to mortify the member in which the lust doth dwell. Did you lose Christ by neglecting the Scriptures? You must find Christ in the Scriptures. It is a true proverb, ‘Look for a thing where you dropped it, it is there.’ So look for Christ where you lost him, for he has not gone away. But it is hard work to go back for Christ. Bunyan tells us, the pilgrim found the piece of the road back to the Arbour of Ease, where he lost his roll, the hardest he had ever travelled. Twenty miles onward is easier than to go one mile back for the lost evidence.”

If anyone knows of a song that illustrates this (probably a hymn – but contemporary may be ok), I’d love to host it here (if that’s even possible).

3 responses

  1. Matt-
    I am truly sorry to hear of your loss. It is a feeling I remember well… please let me know if you would like to talk about it.

    I did find a website that has hymns that Spurgeon wrote himself, see if one of them fits with what you are looking for:
    http://members.aol.com/pilgrimpub/chshymn.htm#_HYMN-WRITER

    You are in my prayers!

    January 20, 2006 at 9:00 am

  2. Matt, thanks for the quote from Spurgeon. Wise words. (Hope you don’t mind my posting it, too; w/ credit.)

    I had a miscarriage about 16 years ago. Dark days. May you find in the depths that His grace is always deeper.

    Saying a prayer for you and your wife.

    March 2, 2006 at 10:12 pm

  3. Jana: Thanks for the prayers. God has been merciful and opened up the eyes of our hearts to see his grace in this time. Friends, family, and our church have been incredibly close these recent months.

    March 18, 2006 at 8:10 pm

Leave a Reply

