Questions and answers, but mainly questions.

“Shit, fuck, goddamn.”

There’s this scene in the movie Saved that always makes me cry. I was just struck with why for the first time. Upon learning her boyfriend is a homosexual, Mary (Jenna Malone) tries to “heal his sickness” by losing her virginity with him. The intimate encounter yeilds more confusion for the boyfriend and a bun in the oven for Mary. The scene that always gets me is when she gets off the bus after visiting the pregnancy crisis center. Walking past a church, she stops and looks up at the cross on the steeple. The camera looks down on her from the towering height of the cross. Looking up at us, with anger and brokeness, she begins, “Shit. …” The camera begins a slow descent. Mary continues – a little more desperate now, “Fuck. …” Smoothly, gracefully and seemingly intentionally, we continue down toward her until we are face to face. With quiet desperation she closes the scene with a resolute “God-damn.”
The reason this moves me is because the camera movement communicates Christ’s movement in the scene. Mary is hurting tremendously. She’s mad at God, but his compassion is unwavering. “The Cross” in this scene descends toward her despite her tongue. As an on-looker, the camera movement forces me to set aside judgement and honestly engage in this dialogue. I don’t know why I’m posting about this. It’s just something that suddenly struck me and made me cry. I felt like sharing that.

4 responses

  1. Kristin

    This is my favorite shot in the movie, I think. When Jena Malone’s character is on her way back from the pregnancy center, confirming that she is pregnant, realizing that her way of fixing the situation was not working out the way she thought, her boyfriend was still gay. She says these horrible things to the cross. The shot shows God’s unending faithfulness to me and reminds me that He is not afraid of my sin but has paid for it.

    January 19, 2006 at 12:05 pm

  2. rich

    have you guys seen “the passion of joan or arc” yet?

    January 21, 2006 at 9:06 am

  3. We haven’t seen “The Passion of Joan of Arc” yet. You’ve recommended it several times, so I’m adding it to the queue right … now.

    January 21, 2006 at 11:30 pm

  4. rich

    you will not be disappointed — one of the most moving performances in the history of cinema…

    January 24, 2006 at 11:26 am

Leave a Reply

